Archivo | 12:38

Conclusions from a sunny day in Krakow

28 Feb

This week has been amazing. I’ve arrived to many conclusions thanks to people that surrounded me.

The Seniors that are learning spanish showed me again how important is to keep the spirit alive. They are the evidence and prove that life is enjoyable until the last moments, always that you have the predisposition to enjoy it.

My group of students formed by Mums with Children showed me the huge labour they do raising their children and in most of the cases resigning, at least for some years, to their professional careers. We were speaking about that topic briefly and they feel their acts and behavior towards their children as an investment for the future. I felt so inspired and excited Europe.

My beginner students, always surprise me. Today it was the day to learn the parts of the body in Spanish and to  create a description about the perfect person for each one of the students. (using adjectives, connectors, clothes vocabulary, etc). I even wrote mine! Some of the best remarks from them were, for example, «lo mas importante es que tenga un corazón grande» (the most important is that he will have a big heart), or «mi persona ideal tiene todos los dientes» (my ideal person should have all the teeth). I enjoyed so much with you guys!

With the advanced students I have always interesting chats. The aim of our lessons is to give them the chance to practice Spanish in an informal way. We discuss about politics, cultural topics, the crisis and about relations between people and countries. My country, Spain, is always a reference and I share with them the knowledge I have about each topic in relation with the spanish point of view. Today we started speaking about healthcare and end up talking about the social cohesion and integration that Europe pretends to promote. And we had random topics until we arrived to that point!

Olga, one of my students gave me her point of view about my labor here in Poland as a volunteer who promotes Spanish language and Spanish culture. She believes my job is really important here because I am sharing what I am and spreading my language which is really important because language is an intangible asset with many hided potential.

Grateful to everyone who was part of my week. More reflections in following days!

Imagen