Archivo | 13:58

I do love my Seniors

13 Feb

learner

One of the most fulfilling experiences of my life is being to teach Spanish language to Seniors. The courage they show starting to learn a new language with an average age of 60 years old gives me pause of thought. I am so impressed with their dedication and passion.

They come to the lessons to enjoy and learn creating a nice atmosphere. For example, yesterday we were learning to ask and answer to the question: ¿Cuántos años tienes? (How old are you?). One of my students, Wanda, explained me on the blackboard, in polish and with many gestures that «Kobieta i świat nie mają lat». It means that woman and the world don’t have age. It was a funny situation and from that moment and after her explanation, I propose them to invent their ages. Then, one of my students said he had 21 years old when I ask him how old he was. Everyone laughed, but we did it even more when he corrected himself, explaining he was 36 and not 21 years old, he pretended he was lying me just before but not at that moment!

I admire those who once they have arrived to their latter years, decide to live life with the same spirit they had when they were youngsters. My senior students have the same enthusiasm for life or even more than my other groups. They have decided to continue living with all their energy and you can feel that at any moment. That’s why I am so proud of being part of their life somehow. My EVS project is part of life-long learning  programs funded by European Commission that collaborates with adult education and technical and vocational trainings.

I do take pride of being part of it!